Friday, April 6, 2012

BMW Tate Live: Online Live Performance Series

Live performance art in an online space with a global community of viewers participating via social media: with its new BMW Tate Live: Performance Room program the Tate is re-envisioning the Internet as a primary space in which artists can create and present their work.

Jérôme Bel inaugurated this experimental series of five performance events on March 22, and will be followed by Pablo Bronstein on April 26, Emily Roysdon on May 31, Harrell Fletcher on June 28, and Joan Jonas on a date to be announced.

How will the artists play with virtual communications and help redefine what an exhibition space can be? You are invited to find out by visiting Tate’s YouTube channel on the specified date of each performance at 8:00pm UK time (12:00pm PT; 1:00pm MT; 2:00pm CT; or 3:00pm ET in the US). Audience members are encouraged to participate online with questions to the artists and curators and by interacting with each other via the Tate's social media channels on Twitter, Facebook and YouTube, and by using the Twitter hashtag #BMWTateLive.

The performances will be archived and available for online viewing at a later date.

No comments: